Tred Vidas

Last Tuesday, I attended “Tres Vidas” in the Performing Arts Center at Georgia Southern University. This show was a champer music theatre piece that was put on by the Multicultural Student Center here at Georgia Southern.image002

Tres Vidas consisted of a Core Ensemble with a Cello, Piano, and Percussion. Actree Desiree Rodriguez took on the single acting role. Her powerful voice and character dedication allowed the show to succeed.

Rodriguez, a member of the Actor’s Equity Association, played the roles of Frida Kahlo, Rufina Amaya, and Alfonsina Storni.

The audience of the show was sparse. I don’t believe there was much publicity. It seemed to be about 20-30 students including the annoying guy behind me that typed on his lap top the entire time.

My favorite part of the show, I have to say, is when Rodriguez played Frida Kahol and talked about American parties. My fiance and part spanish and it is so true that they are so much more relaxed at parties and get togethers. Parties we have in the United States and sometimse so fake and everyone just smiles and pretends to like each other.

Rodriguez’s voice was amazing, although for most the songs, I had no idea what she was singing about; I was still captured by the beautiful language. Because of this, I would reccommend for them, next time, to maybe put the words of the song in the program. I guess that is how it feels when someone of a different culture steps into my culture and does not understand what is going on.

For future performances, I would consider they shorten the program a little. There were 3 seperate acts (for the 3 different women) and sometimes it grew a little tiring. However, if I had the chance to hear Rodriguez sing again, I would definitly love to hear that.

November 4, 2009. International PR.

One Comment

  1. Andrews replied:

    Sounds intriguing. I agree, a beautiful voice can easily be listened to even when they are singing a different language.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

